The films I’m looking forward to in 2014

5 Jan

The time has come to take a look at the films coming out in 2014, so in under 140 characters here goes:

22 Jump Street

I really enjoyed 21 Jump Street so hope we can expect the same level of comedy and entertainment and not just a rehash of old jokes.

300: Rise of an Empire

I mentioned Rise of an Empire this time last year but I’m still looking forward to Snyder’s follow up to 300. Love a bit of stylised action.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

You can’t possible have missed the recent plethora of Marvel/DC films and Captain America was one of the best so here’s to the sequel.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Rise was pretty good & with the same writers returning for Dawn I’m hoping for a comparable if not better film. Shame Franco’s not back.

Divergent

I really enjoyed the book and hope the film can do the story justice so we don’t have another Mortal Instruments debacle on our hands.

Godzilla

I may be the only person who enjoyed Broderick’s film but I’m still looking forward to this re-imagining. Explosions & giant lizards galore!

The Hobbit: There and Back Again

I loved the first two films and thought Smaug was ace so I’ll be sad to see the end of the trilogy but you just know it’s going to be good.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Enjoyed Catching Fire but a bit worried that the story Peetas (ha!) out from there so interested to see how the films will work in two parts.

I, Frankenstein

Underworld is one of my guilty pleasures and I don’t mind saying so. I’m looking forward to this farce from the producers of said franchise.

The Maze Runner

Yet another film that started in print. I’m hoping the movie doesn’t turn out too childish as the books are exciting and quite dark at times.

Pompeii

Bit of a shameless one here as I’m mainly drawn to Kit Harington’s torso but nonetheless Paul WS Anderson makes an entertaining flick.

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

This entirely slipped under my radar but enjoyed the original and most of the cast and crew are returning for the prequel so it’s promising.

Veronica Mars

Just started watching the TV series and really enjoying it thus far so hope the film is more of the same. It’s not your average teen drama.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

I thought First Class entirely lived up to its name so looking forward to the potential continuity minefield that is the sequel/prequel.

One Response to “The films I’m looking forward to in 2014”

  1. alexandrialediayu January 20, 2014 at 4:27 am #

    thank you for the list

Leave a comment

ellisnelson

visionary author